Access controls who can see the block. This can be critical for SEO (search engine optimization)
Watch Permissions Video
- Any - Normal block, anybody can view it
- Hidden - Not viewed by site visors. Option typically used to place content that will be referenced later. Search engines do see this text.
- Not Logged In - Seen only to those who have not logged in. This is good for "please log in" messages.
- Logged In - Shown to anyone who has logged in.
- Logged In and Authorized - Shown to anybody who has logged in and who has been granted the view permission. For example, you can set a PayPal button to add somebody to a group, and those in the group could be see content denied to others if that content used this view permission.
- Logged In and Unauthorized - Shown to anybody who has logged in and who has not been granted the view permission. This is goof for "you need to purchase" messages or advertisements.
Permissions affect who can see and edit the block.
Unlike the other items on this form, permissions are shared across all uses of the block. It would not be sensible to deny somebody permission to add events to a calendar in one instance and give them permission in a shared use elsewhere.==break==
The set of available permissions depends on the block type. For example, articles and bulletin board blocks have permissions for article creation and deletion but text blocks do not need these permissions.
When a permission is granted by a group membership, that permission will be shaded in on the individual permission screen.
When somebody has "manage" permission on a page, they automatically have all permissions to all blocks whose original content is on that page.